Mustangs Win 35th Straight OUA Men’s Squash Championship

Story & Photo: Western Mustangs

KINGSTON, Ont. – The streak continues for the Western Mustangs, as the men’s squash team captured their 35th consecutive OUA Championship on Sunday afternoon at the Queen’s Athletics and Recreation Centre.

Western ran the table on the men’s side winning all five of their games while going an impressive 45-0 in their matches to extend a championship streak that began during the 1983-84 season. The Waterloo Warriors finished at 5-1 to claim silver just ahead of the bronze medalist hosts the Queen’s Gaels who defeated Toronto to seal a medal position Sunday.

The Mustangs took bronze on the women’s side, claiming third place with 21 match wins, while the Toronto Varsity Blues earned silver with 37 victories, and the Gaels took the top spot with 41 wins.

The Gaels won all five of their games while earning a 41-4 record in matches which was four better than second-place Toronto. The Gaels and Varsity Blues closed out the day in a contest that saw Queen’s take the title when the Gaels Alysha Anzik defeated Toronto’s Rhead Dhar in a thrilling match.

Leading Western to their 45th overall men’s banner were Matt Henderson and David Mill who were named OUA All-Stars for their efforts. Mill also took home the OUA MVP award finishing 6-0 with an 18-5 record. The top rookie for men’s squash went to a member of the host Gaels Alex Collins who helped his team reach the podium for OUA bronze.

Individually on the women’s side, Heather McLachlin finished undefeated for the Brock Badgers at 5-0 earning her not only the OUA women’s rookie of the year but the MVP title as well. The impressive first-year went 15-4 in her games from the number one position. Western’s Amy Commisso was recognized for her efforts at the championship, earning a spot on the OUA All-Star team.

The coaches of the year went to Vinit Kudva of Waterloo on the men’s side, his fifth straight coach of the year recognition, while Josh Ginou was named the top women’s coach leading the Varsity Blues to an OUA silver.

Men’s Standings (record)

1) Western (54-0)

2) Waterloo (39-15)

3) Queen’s (33-21)

4) Toronto (23-31)

5) Brock (20-34)

6) Guelph (16-38)

7) McMaster (4-50)

Women’s Standings (record)

1) Queen’s (41-4)

2) Toronto (37-8)

3) Western (21-24)

4) Brock (18-26)

5) McMaster (11-33)

6) Waterloo (6-39)

Men’s MVP

David Mill (Western)

Women’s MVP

Heather McLachlan (Brock)

Men’s Rookie of the Year

Alex Collins (Queen’s)

Women’s Rookie of the Year

Heather McLachlan (Brock)

Men’s Coach of the Year

Vinit Kudva (Waterloo)

Women’s Coach of the Year

Josh Ginou (Toronto)

Men’s All-Stars

David Mill (Western)

Matt Henderson (Western)

Thomas Manley (Waterloo)

Mohamed Hamour (Brock)

Ravi Seth (Waterloo)

Cameron Butler (Queen’s)

Women’s All-Stars

Heather McLachlan (Brock)

Olivia Waite (McMaster)

Charlotte Copas (Waterloo)

Evelyn Moorhouse (Toronto)

Nora Abdelrahman Ibrahim (Queen’s)

Amy Commisso (Western)

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

About jeffreyreed

A leading Canadian communications professional. Corporate office established 1989. Publisher/Editor of this website and

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!