IBL Names Award Winners

CAMBRIDGE – Toronto Maple Leafs catcher Justin Marra was named Intercounty Baseball League Most Valuable Player for 2018.

Marra earned 28 first-place votes after slashing .353/.453/.690/1.143 in his third season with the Leafs, adding 10 home runs and 31 RBI. He finished top five in several offensive categories and helped the Leafs finish fourth in the regular season.

Barrie’s Kevin Atkinson finished second with 17 votes after hitting .352 with 10 home runs and 45 RBI, while Hamilton’s Grant Arnold was third with eight votes after batting .348 with two home runs and 25 RBI.
Marra’s teammate Garret Takamatsu was named IBL Rookie of the Year in a tight vote.

Takamatsu slashed .320/.391/.437/.828 with one home run and 17 RBI. His nine doubles tied Marra for the team lead.
Takamatsu’s 22 votes were two more than Brantford’s David Mendham, who hit .309 with three home runs, 17 RBI and six steals. Guelph’s Ethan Mohan was third with 19 votes after batting .347 with two home runs, 14 RBI, and a team-leading 12 doubles.

The IBL also announced its all-star rosters.

Barrie led the way with five players named to the first team. Jordan Castaldo (1B) and Frank Garces (LHP) were both unanimous selections. Castaldo was a second team all-star in 2017.

Baycats teammates Ryan Spataro (OF), Kevin Atkinson (2B) and Emilis Guerrero (RHP) were also named to the first team. Both Spataro and Guerrero were first team all-stars a year ago, and Atkinson was named to the second team last season.

Mendham (3B) was the other unanimous choice for the first team. Kitchener’s Yorbis Borroto (SS), Guelph’s Sean Reilly (DH), and Burlington’s Justin Gideon (OF) all made the first team for a second straight season. Burlington’s Vaughn Bryan (OF) and Hamilton’s Dean Castelli (MGR) rounded out the first team selections.

First Team All-Stars
1B: Jordan Castaldo, Barrie
2B: Kevin Atkinson, Barrie
3B: David Mendham, Brantford
SS: Yorbis Borroto, Kitchener
C: Justin Marra, Toronto
DH: Sean Reilly, Guelph
OF: Justin Gideon, Burlington
OF: Ryan Spataro, Barrie
OF: Vaughn Bryan, Burlington
RHP: Emilis Guerrero, Barrie
LHP: Frank Garces, Barrie
MGR: Dean Castelli, Hamilton

Second Team All-Stars
1B: Grant Arnold, Hamilton
2B: Dan Marra, Toronto
3B: Colin Gordner, Kitchener
SS: Chris Beer, Hamilton
C: Mike Gordner, Kitchener
DH: Cleveland Brownlee, London
OF: Tanner Nivins, Kitchener
OF: RJ Fuhr, London
OF: Josh Garton, Guelph
RHP: Yunior Yambatis, Guelph; Starlin Peralta, London
LHP: Chris Lazar, Hamilton
MGR: Dave deTeboekhorst, Barrie

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

About jeffreyreed

A leading Canadian communications professional. Corporate office http://www.JeffreyReedReporting.com established 1989. Publisher/Editor of this website and https://londonontariogolf.com.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!